UWW-TV Students Score at Spring WCM Awards

Several UW-Whitewater Communication students were recognized for their efforts on Thursday, May 9, 2019, during the Wisconsin Community Media’s annual “Best of the Midwest Media Fest,” hosted this year at the Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells.  According to WCM Executive Director Mary Cardona, there were 174 total entries this year from Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota and North Dakota.  UW-Whitewater students received four first-place awards, and three second-place plaques during the ceremony that evening, following a daylong conference of learning and network opportunities.  UWW-TV Director and Department of Communication Lecturer Jim Mead was also one of several presenters at this year’s conference.


Students who received first-place awards this year are:
Chuqi “Evis” Li, Capstone mini-documentary, “A Bite of Wisconsin.”
Taylor Miller, Public Service Announcement, “Warhawks at Night.” Miller will also receive the College Best in Show Award, recognizing the video selected as best overall student production.
Kolton Hegstrom and Kimberly Reinders, UWW-TV live broadcasting, “2018 NCAA Softball Tournament Regional: Coe College at UW-Whitewater.”
Connor Moore, Tyler Job and Kolton Hegstrom, UWW-TV live broadcasting, “2018 NCAA Football Play-off, Round Two: St. Norbert at UW-Whitewater.”
Students who received second-place plaques this year are:
Anna Kugler, Video One Media Services client video, “Lake Geneva YMCA 2019 Annual Giving Campaign.”
Annmarie Lavorata, Kimberly Reinders and Tyler Scheuermann, UWW-TV series, “Warhawk Sports Saturday.”
Abigail Werner, UWW-TV series, “Lights in the Dark.”
This is the fourth consecutive year UW-Whitewater students have been recognized at the “Best of the Midwest Media Fest.”  In 2018, they collected a total of nine awards for their broadcasting and video production efforts.

Leave a Comment